"This is an Adobe Illustrator file that was save without PDf content." - Adobe illustrator

This is a discussion on "This is an Adobe Illustrator file that was save without PDf content." - Adobe illustrator ; I have a client that has been working on a file in AI CS, never left his machine, but when he went to open it today he gets a message that says this file "was generated by a newer version ...

+ Reply to Thread
Results 1 to 2 of 2

"This is an Adobe Illustrator file that was save without PDf content."

  1. Default "This is an Adobe Illustrator file that was save without PDf content."

    I have a client that has been working on a file in AI CS, never left his machine, but when he went to open it today he gets a message that says this file "was generated by a newer version of Illustrator. Would you like to import this file? Some data loss may occur".

    And when we click the "Import" button, we then get:

    "This is an Adobe® Illustrator® file that was saved without PDF content. To place or open this file in other applications, it should be re-saved from Adobe Illustrator with the "Create PDF Compatible File" options turned on. This option is in the Illustrator Native Format Options dialog box, which appears when saving an Adobe Illustrator file using the Save As command."

    However, even though this was created in AI CS, all other machine and all other versions of AI (even CS3, 3.3, 2, etc..) we get the same exact error message. How it can be newer than CS 3.3 when it was created in CS is strange to begin with.

    I assume this is some sort of corruption, but was wondering if there were any cures. It seems our backups have backed up this file in it's current state (corrupt), which is a huge issue at this point.

    Thank you very much for any help!

  2. Default Re:"This is an Adobe Illustrator file that was save without PDf content."

    Can you place the "corrupt" .ai file within a new illustrator file? Make sure the "link" button is un-checked when you do this and you should have editable vector objects again. Unfortunately, I believe you will lose all you layers and have only one layer.

+ Reply to Thread